top of page

A voice from the Carpathian mountains


My childhood memories are so dear and so special to me that I don't want them to fade away with age. So I decided to be recording my stories and thoughts and share them here with everyone who wants to know what it was like to grow up as a Rusyn girl in the Rusyn village of Uličské Krivé in Slovakia, hidden in the foothills of the Carpathian mountains.

My Rusyn family heritage has had such a strong influence on me that I don't even consider myself Slovakian. That's probably why my kids (11 and 8) speak Rusyn as their first language, even though they were born and spent their first years in Denver, Colorado, which they consider their home. At this point we all have lived in four different countries, absorbed the cultures of them all, and so we know who we are and where we come from. Much less, though, where we are headed... :-)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
More to read...
Follow Rusyn artists...
  • 15
bottom of page